Top yakiniku in Tokyo is hard to book because the best houses do not take reservations whenever you call. They sell a whole month of seats on one fixed day, often at a fixed minute, and the seats are gone soon after. On 31 October 2026, of the 31 Tokyo yakiniku houses in our booking calendar, 15 opened their books on a monthly release day: 48.4%. Among Tokyo genres with fifteen or more houses in the calendar, that is the highest share. Innovative restaurants are next at 41.2%, kaiseki is at 24.7%, and sushi is at 18.4%. Taken together, the other 475 houses in those large genres sit at 21.3%. On that one measure, the share of houses with a monthly release day, yakiniku leads the large genres in our calendar. It covers our own records, not every restaurant in Tokyo, and many sushi, kaiseki and yakitori records still have no verified rule, which lowers their shares.
What the numbers show
The calculation is ours. We counted every active Tokyo record in our booking calendar, grouped by genre, and took the share whose release rule is “monthly”, meaning a fixed calendar trigger such as the 1st of the month or the first business day. Three further details make yakiniku harder than the headline share suggests.
First, the window is short. Of the 15 monthly houses, nine release only the following month, five release up to the end of the month after next, and one releases about four months ahead. A traveller who plans three months out finds most of these books not yet open.
Second, the release usually happens at a set hour. Several houses open at midnight or in the early afternoon, so being online or on the phone at that minute matters more than calling early in the day.
Third, five of the 31 houses cannot be booked through any open release at all. They take regulars only, take no reservations, or have a book that is full.
The release days, house by house
Each line comes from the house’s record in our calendar, which notes its sources and the month it was last verified (September or October 2026 unless stated). Times are JST.
| House | Release day | Time | What opens | Channel |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yoroniku Tokyo Azabudai Hills | 1st of each month | 00:00 | Rest of the following month | TableCheck |
| Ebisu Yoroniku | 1st of each month | 00:00 | Rest of the following month | TableCheck, also other sites |
| Yoroniku, Minami‑Aoyama | First business day | Reported 15:00 | To the end of the month after next | Phone, Japanese |
| Ushimatsu | First business day | Not stated | To the end of the month after next | TableCheck, OMAKASE, Ikyu, phone 14:00–23:00 |
| Yakiniku Jambo Hongo | 1st of each month | 13:00 | The following month | TableCheck, phone |
| Yakiniku Jumbo Hanare | 1st of each month | Phone from 13:00 | The following month | TableCheck, phone |
| Yakiniku Jumbo Shinozaki Honten | 1st of each month | Phone 13:00–15:30 | The following month | TableCheck, Tabelog, phone |
| Akasaka Misuji | 1st of each month | 15:00 | The following month | TableCheck, phone |
| Hiroo Taishu Yakiniku Boin Boshoku | 1st of each month | Not stated | About four months ahead | Toreta (record verified February 2025) |
| Yakiniku Seiryuen | 15th (phone), 16th (online) | 10:00 | The following month | Phone, then TableCheck (record verified February 2026) |
| SATObriand Honten | 25th (priority), 11th (remaining) | 12:00 | Month after next; then remaining seats for the following month | OMAKASE, then official site |
| SATObriand Nigo | 25th (priority), 11th (remaining) | 12:00 | As the Honten | OMAKASE, then official site |
| Tokyo‑en | Last Monday of the month | 15:00 | To the end of the month after next | Phone only |
| Ryozan‑en | First business day | Not stated | The following month | Phone only (record verified March 2025) |
| Yakiniku Wada | First business day | Not stated | The following month | Phone (rule as published March 2025); 2026 reviews report the line unanswered and bookings effectively for regulars |
Two facts here are rarely spelled out in English. SATObriand runs two releases a month for two different months: a priority round on OMAKASE from noon on the 25th, at ¥390 per seat according to its official booking site, then a second round on the official site from noon on the 11th for whatever is left of the following month. Seiryuen also splits its release, with the phone line opening at 10:00 on the 15th and TableCheck at 10:00 on the 16th. Its TableCheck page asks guests who cannot speak Japanese not to book there.
For Yoroniku in Minami‑Aoyama, our desk confirmed by phone in September 2026 that the 1 October release covered December. That matches the rule of booking through the end of the month after next. We did not ask for a start time on that call, so the 15:00 in the table comes from earlier published reports.
The doors that stay shut
Akasaka Raimon is regulars‑only in our records: no phone or online booking, and regulars rebook in person. The only outside route is a rare same‑day cancellation posted on its Instagram stories and claimed by immediate message. We do not treat it as bookable. Kinryuzan in Shirokanedai works the same way. Eight parties a night book their next visit at the table, and the phone is kept for cancellations.
Uramatsu, the seven‑seat hidden counter in the same basement as Ushimatsu, held no monthly release when our record was last verified in January 2026. Its Tabelog notice from that month says the book is full and that cancelled seats reappear only on OMAKASE. Yakiniku Kosen is full with regulars through 2027. Stamina‑en takes no reservations at all, and the queue often runs one to three hours.
For contrast, USHIGORO S. Ginza has no release day. Its book runs about three months ahead, and outside weekends two to four weeks’ notice is usually enough.
What to do for a November or December dinner
The dates below follow the rules in our calendar for November 2026. 1 November 2026 is a Sunday, and the first‑business‑day houses above list no Sunday closing, so they open that day.
- 1 November, 00:00: Yoroniku Azabudai Hills and Ebisu Yoroniku open the rest of December on TableCheck. Create an account and register a card the evening before.
- 1 November: Ushimatsu and Yoroniku Minami‑Aoyama open dates through the end of January 2027. Akasaka Misuji opens December at 15:00 and Yakiniku Jambo Hongo at 13:00; the other two Jumbo houses open December that day, with their phone lines answering from 13:00.
- 11 November, 12:00: SATObriand releases its remaining December seats on the official site.
- 15 and 16 November, 10:00: Seiryuen opens December, by phone first and then on TableCheck.
- 25 November, 12:00: SATObriand’s priority round for January 2027 opens on OMAKASE.
- 30 November, 15:00: Tokyo‑en’s phone line opens dates through the end of January 2027. 30 November is the last Monday of the month.
- Check the fine print before you click. Both Yoroniku TableCheck pages refuse proxy bookings, Akasaka Misuji accepts bookings only from the diner, and the Jumbo houses do not take international calls.
If you would rather have someone hold the line on those days, our reservation desk can take those calls for you.
Beyond Tokyo, the same pattern
The monthly‑release pattern carries beyond yakiniku and beyond the capital. In Kyoto’s Gion, the beef restaurant Niku no Takumi Miyoshi opens the whole month two months ahead on OMAKASE at 13:30 on the 1st, with one booking per month. In Kobe, the teppanyaki house Mouriya Honten has no release day and books on TableCheck, which makes it the gentler beef table of the two. To read the grade and marbling numbers on any of these menus, our guide to wagyu grades and BMS explains them.

